Whether you were arrested by a state officer or a federal officer is a major refinement. Every state has different laws with regards to possession. If a police officer arrests or tickets you then your outcome will take after whatever that specific laws in regards to California marijuana possession are. If you are arrested by a federal agent, then risks are you are abusing the law in a much grander scale. Federal agents don’t simply appear at your door unless they have motivation to trust that you are included with transporting or manufacturing of marijuana and/or have binds to significantly more serious illegal issues.
Your charges can run from a state or federal misdemeanor or lawful offense. The charges for california marijuana possession change from a misdemeanor or lawful offense to prison or prison time and court fines. The amount you were gotten with and if you have a prior offense will influence the sentencing.
Let’s assume you are in California, you have under two cases in your possession and you are a first time offender. You could be sentenced to serve prison time for up to 180 days and need to pay up to $2,000 in fines. If you had more than two ounces correctional facility time increments to up to one year to and up to $4,000 in expenses. The more you currently possess at the season of the arrest, the more extreme the outcomes.
The punishment for possession of marijuana will depend exclusively on the amount of the drug in possession. More than two ounces however under four in possession could cost you as much as $4,000 and up to a year in region correctional facility, also the loss of your driver’s license. More than four ounces yet under five pounds could arrive you in state prison for up to two years, cause you to lose your license and cost you as much as $10,000 in fines. Any amount of marijuana over a pound disqualifies the individual in possession from a probation-just sentence.
Possession of Larger Amounts of Marijuana
If you are caught with any amount of marijuana more than five pounds you will be viewed as a drug trafficker and the penalties will increment drastically. From five to fifty pounds of marijuana found in a man’s possession could raise to ten years in a California prison and fines of up to $10,000. Possession of more than fifty pounds yet not exactly a ton conveys a prison sentence of 2-20 years and the same $10,000 fine. The most serious level of California marijuana possession is for any amount over a ton bringing about life in prison and a $50,000 fine.